Child Of Nuin











{April 3, 2013}   Anime Island Conventon, 2013

Well this review has been a while in the making. I did mean to get onto it before, but you know, university and all that jazz.

So, as you may know, Tasmania’s Anime Island Convention was on the 16th and 17th of March. It was a pretty good con as far as small town conventions go. I’ve noticed just by surfing the Manifest website that it seems to borrow some (read: lots of) events from that convention. But that didn’t make it any less awesome.

Saturday was pretty great for Fruits Fashion. I ended up cosplaying on the first day, but I have realized that going as Marauder Era Remus Lupin to a small town convention that is probably not full of Harry Potter nerds probably isn’t a good idea. I did get complimented on my scar makeup by someone though, so I guess it’s not a completely wasted effort.

Test makeup... I somehow lost my "on-the-day" photo.

Test makeup… I somehow lost my “on-the-day” photo.

The whole “theme” this year was Steampunk, pretty much, which is awesome. So there were quite a few steampunk-inspired outfits in the Fruits Fashion Competition. And for the first time that I’ve been there, there were some guys decked out in frocks and jewelry. I thought that is was pretty awesome, to be honest. Some of the outfits were just out of this world in detail, and some were… well… not really hard worked on, to say the least. But the whole idea is to have fun, and people definitely did that.

Captain Syn, showing us how it's done.

Captain Syn, showing us how it’s done.

There were some pretty great events, including Cosplay Mystery Date. I managed to get a place on the ‘contestant’ side of one of them. I was up against Aerith and… some person from Homestuck I think. Needless to say, I didn’t win that, but it turns out that the “bachelor” was someone that I follow on DeviantArt. Small world.

Sunday was the day for cosplaying, and in true me-fashion, I decided not to torture my body anymore and went in “normal” clothes. I say normal in that they weren’t cosplay, but they weren’t every day clothes either. Anyway, enough on that. There were some really awesome cosplays, including a Kingdom Hearts group, some Ouran Hosts and a rather irate Final Fantasy VII Sid. There were some people cosplaying from anime, manga and games that I’ve never heard of before, some old favorites and some amazing cosplay feats (you know, massive arse wings, that kind thing). It was a great turn out, and the people who won really did deserve it. Including HAPPYHAHA, the same DeviantArtist that I mentioned before as being my ‘bachelor’.

First time cosplayers. Her hair... just... whut?!

First time cosplayers. Her hair… just… whut?!

Oh my god the wings...

Oh my god the wings…

HAPPYHAHA, winner of the Best Constructed.

HAPPYHAHA, winner of the Best Constructed



Unfortunately, I couldn’t stay late on either day since I had work both nights, but I managed to get in to the auction on the last day (though I missed Saturday’s MA15+ auction). And since sellers in the Traders Hall don’t like packing up all their stuff again, they tend to put everything on sale in the last couple of hours. So many bargains. I bought quite a few Avengers inspired things. I regret nothing.

IMG_0381

Subtle nerdiness…

IMG_0389

I’m not even trying anymore

IMG_0373

Slightly less subtle…



I didn’t manage to get a photo of me with the Captain America that was walking around though. That was a bit disappointing.

Overall AI-Con, while not being the greatest con, was a delight to go to. I love getting back together with people and having fun. Conventions are always great places to catch up with people who have the same interests as you do.

And now that it’s over, I’ve actually joined the Tasmanian Anime and Manga Society at my university, so I’m getting to know a lot of amazing people who have so much to offer and share. I’m so lucky to be a part of such a fantastic community.

– Reillyn is AFK –

Leave a Reply

et cetera
